About Kanne Bread Drink®

Sustainability and tradition are the secrets to our success

The fact that bread is more than just another food item and that it harbours powers that are good for our health dawned on master baker Wilhelm Kanne more than 40 years ago. He discovered that renowned physician and chemist Friedrich Hoffmann (1660 – 1742) used pumpernickel bread to make his compound spirit of ether (Hoffmannstropfen). Other physicians also highly appreciated the effects of pumpernickel, the dark whole grain bread from Westphalia. A large number of people held pumpernickel bread in high regard as it regulated digestion, was easy to digest and exceptionally nutritious at the same time. This bread was also used to extract a drink that was considered particularly beneficial to one's health. It was prepared by pouring boiling water over a few pumpernickel slices. On the following day, the farmers would use this drink to quench their thirst while working on the field. Meanwhile, there is a similar traditional drink that is drunk in Russia as a refreshment and created by fermenting bread, vegetables and other ingredients. Containing a small amount of alcohol, it is called Kwas and still immensely popular today.

Wilhelm Kanne III  Wilhelm Kanne III spent a considerable number of years on the development of Kanne Bread Drink until he was finally satisfied with the fruit of his labour. The Kanne concept he conceived back then is still reflected in today's company philosophy - a philosophy to which the Kanne Bread Drink company and the Kanne bakery are still committed in their everyday work.

Wilhelm Kanne used these traditional drinks that have been passed on from generation to generation as his inspiration and starting point. He spent more than 20 years experimenting with the fermentation of organic bread grains. The outcome of his tireless efforts is Original Kanne Bread Drink® – which, today, is widely known and popular both in Germany and abroad. Click here if you would like to know more about the history and evolution of the Kanne Bread Drink.

Their success has proved Wilhelm Kanne and his family right given that their invention has been a triumph for more than 30 years: Kanne Bread Drink® with its vitamins, minerals, amino acids, live bacteria and protein components that help control a vast number of biochemical reactions in our organism. 
But, the Kanne family business from Lünen in North-Rhine Westphalia has a lot more to offer than just their signature Organic Bread Drink®. Kanne's principal objective is and has always been the development of products that are beneficial to their fellow men and their health and well-being. This is why Kanne Brottrunk GmbH & Co. has never let up in their research and development efforts that are driven by their resolve to serve mankind and nature. Click here to learn the ins and outs of Kanne research and development efforts.

Über Kanne-Brottrunk®

Mit Nachhaltigkeit und Tradition zum Erfolg

Schon vor über 40 Jahren erkannte Bäckermeister Wilhelm Kanne, dass Brot mehr ist als nur ein Lebensmittel - und dass im Brot Kräfte stecken, die für unsere Gesundheit förderlich sein können. So verwendete beispielsweise der bekannte Arzt und Chemiker Friedrich Hoffmann (1660-1742) für die Herstellung seiner „Hoffmanns Tropfen“ überwiegend Pumpernickel. Auch andere Ärzte schätzten die Wirkung des Pumpernickels, des dunklen westfälischen Vollkornbrotes, hoch ein. Man lobte seine leicht verdaulichen, verdauungsregulierenden und zugleich stark nährenden Eigenschaften. Aus diesem Brot bereiteten die Bauern früher auch einen Trunk, der als Gesundheitstrunk schlechthin galt. Er wurde angesetzt, indem man einige Scheiben Pumpernickel mit kochendem Wasser übergoss. Anderntags nahmen die Bauern dieses Getränk als Durstlöscher mit auf die Felder. Aus Russland ist ebenfalls ein Erfrischungsgetränk namens Kwas bekannt, das durch die Vergärung von Brot, Gemüsen und anderen Zutaten entsteht, leicht alkoholhaltig ist und sich dort noch heute großer Beliebtheit erfreut.

Wilhelm Kanne III Kanne Brottrunk - Bäckermeister Wilhelm KanneÜber viele Jahre arbeitete Wilhelm Kanne III an der Entwicklung von Kanne Brottrunk, bis er endlich mit dem Ergebnis zufrieden war.
Das von ihm verfasste Kanne-Konzept ist heute noch die Firmenphilosophie, der sich die Firmen Kanne Brottunk und Bäckerei Kanne verpflichtet fühlen und danach arbeiten.

Bei diesen überlieferten, traditionellen Getränken setzte Wilhelm Kanne an. Er experimentierte über 20 Jahre mit der Vergärung von Bio-Brotgetreiden. Das Ergebnis seiner unermüdlichen Anstrengungen ist das heute im In- und Ausland bekannte und beliebte Getränk Original Kanne Brottrunk®. Wer genaueres zur Geschichte und Entstehung des Kanne Bio Brottrunks erfahren möchte, wird hier fündig.

Der Erfolg gibt Wilhelm Kanne und seiner Familie recht, denn seit über 30 Jahren wird er gerne getrunken: der Kanne Brottrunk®, der Vitamine, Mineralien, Aminosäuren, lebendige Bakterien und Eiweißbausteine enthält, die in unserem Organismus viele biochemische Reaktionen steuern
Doch das Familienunternehmen Kanne aus Lünen in Nordrhein-Westfalen hat noch viel mehr rund um den klassischen Bio Brottrunk®zu bieten. Das Ziel der Firma Kanne war und ist stets die Entwicklung von Produkten, die dem Menschen und seiner Gesundheit dienen können. Dafür betreibt die Kanne Brottrunk GmbH & Co. bis heute Forschung und Entwicklung zum Wohl des Menschen und der Natur. Wie genau bei Kanne gearbeitet und geforscht wird, erfahren sie hier.