Concept of sustainability at Kanne

"The expression "in harmony with nature" has been an integral part of the vocabulary used at our company for as long as I can remember. Much more than just a flowery phrase, this expression is a reflection of our way of living and of running our business." Wilhelm Kanne Jr. 

Already shared with profound conviction by Wilhelm Friedrich Kanne more than 30 years ago, this philosophy and attitude towards life became the cornerstone of Kanne's current policy to promote sustainability.
The realisation that humans will not be able to survive unless they live in a healthy environment came to Wilhelm Kanne IV  early on and became the driving force behind his efforts to protect nature and the environment. This understanding led him to advocate organic farming methods as early as 1983 by convincing a great number of farmers to switch to organic grain cultivation. Meanwhile, he also began devising plans on how to convert wind energy into electricity. The company has come a long way from its early efforts to protect the environment and is now pursuing a highly evolved "sustainability concept".

"Sustainability does not begin on a large scale, but is often the result of a long sequence of small individual steps."

The company managed to set up a small wind power plant on the premises of the Kanne bakery as early as 1998. The initial idea behind this project was to feed the generated energy directly into the facility in order to, among other things, supply the pumps needed for the water circulation (surface water is returned within a natural recirculation system). The company was later able to replace this small plant with an 800 kW plant in 2009. In a separate effort, Kanne installed a photovoltaic system that delivers an output of 125 kW on the roof of their production facility in 2010. In 2014, the company managed to establish the direct feed of the generated energy. The wind and photovoltaic systems generate a combined output of renewable energy in the amount of approx. 1.2M kWh. Naturally, the production cannot be reduced to the times when the wind blows or the sun shines. After all, direct consumption of renewable energy amounts to nearly 650,000 kWh.

"While there are certainly places that are better suited to serve as installation locations for a wind turbine, our wind turbine serves our original intention very well as we wanted to produce energy in exactly the location where it is needed." Wilhelm Kanne

In 2014, a cooperation with Stadtwerke Lünen, the municipal utility company, allowed the company's bakery business in Lünen to switch from heating oil to natural gas. This switch, of course, also dictated the installation of the latest furnace technology. The bread drink operations in Selm-Bork completed the conversion to natural gas several years ago. The conversion of most of the company's ovens from fuel oil to electric heating, which the company accomplished in 2004, was another major milestone on the way to the exclusive use of renewable energy. The first step involved a significant reduction in fuel oil consumption (approx. 110,000 litres per year).

The new installation of the baking lines in 2004 was accompanied by the incorporation of a heat recovery systems into all operations. These systems allow for using the heat remaining in the ovens, the waste heat contained in the vapour steam and flue gases as well as the waste heat produced during the drying of the mash. This heat can then be used by steam and flue gas condensers to supply the power needed to heat up the water in the dishwashers. Since approx. 30 - 40% of the losses (vapour steam and flue losses) can be recovered, the primary use of heating oil / gas could be reduced significantly.

Energy management

The ovens set up in the Kanne bakery branches are designed to handle sequential peak times of operation. By equipping the ovens with a monitoring system that operates on a timer we were able to set up our ovens such that individual ovens which are not needed during times of low demand will be shut off automatically or not even be heated up. At present, this optimised energy consumption allows for savings of approx. 60,000 kWh or annual savings in cost of approx. €10,000.
We teamed up with the power consultants at Stadtwerke Lünen to systematically scour our branches for such "energy guzzlers" as old refrigerators and replace them with new appliances.

Water circulation

Both companies have their own dedicated water supply through wells and a spring. Instead of draining our entire surface water and the pure water of the bottle rinsing water (approx. 6500 m³ per year) into the sewage system, we use a 7-chamber system to filter the water before recycling it into the pond installations via natural gravel and reed beds.

The organic experimental nursery that is attached to the Kanne Brottrunk premises and that is used to demonstrate the effects of Kanne Bread Drink in the field of agriculture uses the water from these ponds to water their plants, re-feeding the water into the natural cycle.

 

Environmental protection

The company has planted over 800 fruit trees, hedges and shrubs on their premises in the course of the last 20 years. The baking hall in Bork was built with renewable home-grown timber and has green covering on the roof. Over the last few years, the company has created pond installations and biotopes that span an area of more than 10,500 sqm. Offering a natural habitat for aquatic birds and other animals, these ponds and biotopes provide for natural water circulation.

Management of the vehicle pool

Driving in a manner that is gentle on the environment is particularly beneficial to air quality and energy/fuel economy when you assume this driving style during short-distance trips. We have established driver's education classes that are specifically designed to educate drivers on environmentally compatible driving and on how smart route planning can be used to avoid unnecessary trips and to, thereby, cut down on energy consumption and cost.

"Sustainable actions require long-term thinking!"

Practised environmental protection is one of the cornerstones of the Kanne philosophy. In appreciation of this concept, Wilhelm Kanne was distinguished with the B.A.U.M. environmental award in 2001 and the Kanne company received the NRW Sustainability Award in 2014.

Nachhaltigkeitskonzept der Firma Kanne

"Solange ich denken kann, existiert in unserem Unternehmen der Ausdruck  „Im Einklang mit der Natur“ nicht nur als eine Floskel, sondern vielmehr als eine Art Lebens- und Unternehmensphilosophie." Wilhelm Kanne jun.

Aus dieser Lebensphilosophie und Einstellung die bereits Wilhelm Friedrich Kanne aus tiefster Überzeugung vor über 30 Jahren lebte, entwuchs das, was heute bei Firma Kanne unter Nachhaltigkeit verstanden wird.
Dass der Mensch nur in einer gesunden Umwelt die Chance hat langfristig zu überleben, erkannte Wilhelm Kanne IV.  bereits früh und war für ihn der Antrieb, Natur und Umwelt zu schützen. So setze er sich bereits 1983 für die biologische Landwirtschaft ein, indem er zahlreiche Bauern auf biologischen Getreideanbau umstellte und sich parallel mit Konzepten zur Windenergieerzeugung befasste. Seit dieser Zeit hat sich im Unternehmen aus Anfängen des Umweltschutzes ein eigenes „Nachhaltigkeitskonzept“ entwickelt.

"Nachhaltigkeit fängt nicht im Großen an, sondern ergibt sich oft aus der Fülle von einzelnen kleineren Maßnahmen."

Kanne Brottrunk - Nachhaltigkeitskonzept der Firma KanneAuf dem Betriebsgelände der Bäckerei Kanne in Lünen konnte bereits 1998 eine kleine Windkraftanlage installiert werden. Der ursprüngliche Gedanke dabei war es, die Energie direkt in den Betrieb einzuspeisen um damit unter anderem die Pumpen für die Wasserkreisläufe (Oberflächenwasser wird in einem natürlichen Kreislaufsystem zurückgeführt) zu versorgen. 2009 konnte dann diese kleinere Anlage durch eine 800 kW-Anlage ersetzt werden. Des Weiteren errichtete die Firma Kanne im Jahr 2010 auf dem Dach der Produktion eine Photovoltaikanlage mit einer Leistung von 125 kW. Die Direkteinspeisung der erzeugten Energie wurde 2014 realisiert. Durch Windkraft und Photovoltaik wird ca. 1,2 Mio. kWh an regenerativer Energie erzeugt. Natürlich kann nicht nur Produziert werden wenn der Wind weht oder die Sonne scheint doch immerhin sind es rund 650.000 kWh regenerativer Energie, die direkt verbraucht werden.

"Es gibt sicherlich wirtschaftlich gesehen rentablere Standorte für ein Windrad, doch der Gedanke hinter dieser bewussten Entscheidung ist es, Energie dort zu produzieren, wo Energie verbraucht wird." Wilhelm Kanne

In 2014 konnte, durch eine Kooperation mit den Stadtwerken Lünen, der Bäckerei-Betrieb in Lünen von Heizöl auf Erdgas umgestellt werden. Verbunden war damit natürlich die Installation neuster Brennertechnik. Der Brottrunk Betrieb in Selm-Bork wurde bereits vor einigen Jahren auf Erdgas umgestellt. Mit der Umstellung eines Großteils der Backöfen von Ölbefeuerung auf Elektrobetrieb konnte 2004 ein weiterer Baustein zur Nutzung regenerativer Energien hinzugefügt werden. Im ersten Schritt wurde eine erhebliche Menge an Heizöl eingespart (pro Jahr ca. 110.000 Liter).

Im Zuge einer Neuinstallation der Backstraßen im Jahr 2004 wurde eine Wärmerückgewinnung in den Betrieben installiert. So wird die Restwärme der Öfen, die Abwärme der Schwadendämpfe und Rauchgase sowie die Abwärme bei der Maischetrocknung genutzt, um mit Hilfe von Schwaden- und Rauchgaskondensatoren die Energie für die Warmwasserbereitung der Spülmaschinen bereitzustellen. Ca. 30 - 40% der Verluste (Schwaden und Abgasverluste)  lassen sich zurück gewinnen, dadurch ist eine Verringerung des Primärenergieeinsatzes von Heizöl bzw. Gas zu realisieren.

Energie-Management

Die Backöfen in den Filialen der Bäckerei Kanne sind für sequenzielle Stoßzeiten ausgelegt. Durch die Einrichtung einer Überwachung mittels zeitlicher Steuerung, konnte realisiert werden, dass einzelne Herde, die in schwächeren Zeiten nicht benötigt werden automatisch ausgeschaltet werden, bzw. von Beginn an nicht aufheizen. Diese Energieoptimierung macht aktuell ca. 60 000 kWh aus, was einer Kostenersparnis von ca. 10 000€ jährlich  entspricht.
Mit den Energieberatern der Stadtwerke Lünen wurden die Filialen systematisch überprüft um „Energiefresser“ wie alte Kühlanlagen aufzudecken und zu ersetzen.

Wasserkreisläufe

Beide Betriebe haben eine Eigenwasserversorgung mittels Brunnen bzw. Quelle. Das gesamte Oberflächenwasser und das Reinwasser der Flaschenspülanlage, (ca. 6500 m³ pro Jahr) wird nicht in die Kanalisation geleitet, sondern über ein 7-Kammersystem gefiltert und anschließend über natürliche Kies und Schilfbetten in die Teichanlagen geführt.

Die zur Firma Kanne Brottrunk gehörende Bio-Versuchsgärtnerei, in der die Wirkungsweisen des Kanne Brottrunks in der Landwirtschaft demonstriert werden, bezieht wiederum das Gießwasser für die Pflanzen aus diesen Teichen, so dass das Wasser dem natürlichen Kreislauf wieder zugeführt wird.

Umweltschutz

Kanne Brottrunk - UmweltschutzIn den letzten 20 Jahren wurden über 800 Obstbäume, Hecken und Sträucher auf den Firmengeländen gepflanzt. Die Backhalle in Bork wurde aus nachwachsenden heimischen Hölzern gebaut und ist mit einer  Dachbegrünung versehen. Insgesamt wurden in den letzten Jahren über 10.500 m² an Teichanlagen und Biotopen angelegt. Diese bieten einen natürlichen Lebensraum für Wasservögel und andere Tiere und sorgen für einen natürlichen Wasserkreislauf.

Fuhrparkmanagement

Gerade bei Kurzstreckenfahrten macht sich eine umweltschonende Fahrweise in Bezug auf Luftverschmutzung und Energie-/Kraftstoffverbrauch  bemerkbar. Mit der Einführung spezieller Fahrertrainings zur umweltschonenden Fahrweise und durch eine regelmäßige Überprüfung der Routenplanung zur Vermeidung unnötiger Fahrten ist es das Ziel, in diesem Bereich Energie und Kosten einzusparen.

"Nachhaltiges Handeln setzt Nachhaltiges Denken voraus!"

Der praktizierte Umweltschutz ist eine tragende Säule innerhalb der Kanne-Philosophie. Für dieses Konzept erhielt Wilhelm Kanne im Jahr 2001 den B.A.U.M. - Umweltpreis und die Firma Kanne 2014 den NRW-Nachhaltigkeitspreis.