Location

 "The Kanne company operates two different research and production locations – in Selm-Bork and in Lünen. The company applies their concept of sustainability with great consistency at both locations. The bulk of the required power is generated by a wind turbine and a photovoltaic system that have been set up on the company's premises in Lünen. The water originates from our own spring, and the rain water at the premises does not go into the sewer system but is fed to ponds and biotopes through a seven chamber system, where it forms a natural habitat for many fish and waterfowl. The residual heat of the baking ovens is used to heat the dishwater.

With its lakes, reed ditches, scattered fruit tree meadows and groves, our company grounds in Selm-Bork look more like a biotope than the premises of a highly advanced production facility. Located here are the fermenting vessels used for our Organic Kanne Bread Drink® production, the filling plants, administration, the training rooms, the Tyrolean stone mills and our bakehouse. The Lünen location, on the other hand, houses the bakery, the nursery, the fish ponds, the wind turbine and the Environmental Academy.
The Kanne corporation has furnished both locations in such a way that they can be operated in harmony with nature: from the organic nursery to the fish ponds to the environmentally compatible generation of power. These locations allow us to develop and inspect products for use in agriculture and work on the next big idea."

Kanne Environmental AcademyAt the “Environmental Academy” in Lünen, visitors – among them doctors, natural health professionals, veterinarians, non-veterinary practitioners or associations – can experience the Kanne concept up close and personal. In the course of the last few years, our Environmental Academy has been evolving into a communication centre for anyone with a desire to return to a more natural way of living and looking for alternatives to the excess of substances that are synthesised chemically and dominate our lives.

Standort

„Die Firma Kanne forscht und stellt ihre Produkte an zwei verschiedenen Standorten her – in Selm-Bork und Lünen. An beiden Standorten setzt die Firma das Konzept der Nachhaltigkeit konsequent um. Ein Großteil des benötigten Stroms kommt von einem Windrad und einer Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Betriebsgelände in Lünen. Das Wasser stammt aus einer eigenen Quelle, und das Regenwasser auf dem Betriebsgelände versickert nicht in der Kanalisation, sondern gelangt über ein spezielles Sieben-Kammer-System in hauseigene Teiche und Biotope, die so einen natürlichen Lebensraum für zahlreiche Fische und Wasservögel bilden. Die Restwärme der Backöfen wird benutzt, um Spülwasser zu erwärmen.

Mit seinen Teichen, Schilfgräben, Streuobstwiesen und Baumgruppen erscheint das Betriebsgelände in Selm-Bork eher wie ein Biotop als eine moderne Fabrikation. Hier befinden sich die Gärbehälter für die Kanne Bio Brottrunk®-Herstellung, die Abfüllanlagen, die Verwaltung, die Schulungsräume, die Tiroler Steinmühlen und das Backhaus. Am Standort Lünen befinden sich hingegen Bäckerei, Gärtnerei, Fischteiche, Windrad und die Umweltakademie.
An beiden Standorten hat die Firma Kanne sich alle Möglichkeiten für ein Arbeiten im Einklang mit der Natur geschaffen: von der Bio-Gärtnerei über Fischteiche bis hin zur umweltfreundlichen Energiegewinnung. Hier werden die Produkte für die Landwirtschaft entwickelt und überprüft und an neuen Ideen gearbeitet.“

Kanne UmweltakademieIn der Kanne-Umweltakademie in Lünen können die von der Firma Kanne eingeladenen (Fach) Besucher – unter anderem Ärzte, Heilpraktiker, Tierärzte, Tierheilpraktiker und Sportvereine – das Kanne-Konzept hautnah erleben. Die Umweltakademie hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem Kommunikationszentrum von Menschen entwickelt, die in der heutigen Zeit wieder natürlicher leben wollen und nach Alternativen zu den vielen chemisch hergestellten Stoffe suchen, die unser Leben bestimmen.